Immune to fangirling

“Fangirling”, (v)

1. the reaction a fangirl has to any mention or sighting of the object of her “affection”. These reactions include shortness of breath, highpitched noises, shaking etc. 

2. a gathering of two or more fangirls in which they proceed to waste endless amounts of time ogling, discussing/arguing, stalking, etc. the object of their “affection”. 

See also: 
fangirl” or “groupie

When you’re accosted by celebrities and famous faces on a daily basis, meeting Meryl Streep or Tom Jones suddenly becomes the norm.

Isn’t that a bizarre concept to the outside world?

Working in commercial radio has taught me that celebrity world can be so fickle and transient.

Spending another two weeks with what has to be the most brilliant Entertainment team in Soho has taught me a great deal more about the movie & music industries.

Starting my very first day at the launch of a popular BBC primetime singing contest was nerve-wracking as heck. I found myself at a rooftop bar of a swanky 5* hotel on the Southbank, shmoozing with other journalists sent to cover the same event.

We were hoarded in a screening room where the press were allowed to view the first episode of the show alongside the celebrities who feature in it.

There I was, student reporter, baffled at how I had swung my way in to this situation. I had been sent there to cover the event and interview the elite famous faces on behalf of 70 radio stations and print magazines. Me.

Did the thought of fluffing up or not asking the right questions, or forgetting to press record on my marantz, or annoying the talent cross my mind – ohhhh yes. But I shoved down the nerves and waltzed in to the place just like every other journo there. I couldn’t even enjoy the copious amount of free food or champagne for fear of coming across like a bumbling idiot during the interviews.

96

One thing I immediately disliked was the manner of which some journos introduced themselves to one another, it went along the lines of “Hi, I’m [enter full name] from [enter some publication or station I was supposed to be slyly impressed by or jealous of]”.

So entirely false and pretentious – it was really quite unnecessary, but I quickly learnt that the Entertainment world is like that. From PR, to journalism, it seemed the Entertainment sector is full of whimsical shrubbery. A friend told me to bare in mind the infamous saying ‘if you can’t beat them, join them’ – and right he was. Thankfully though, not all were like that.

After the ‘mingling’ amongst the press, the talent did the rounds and conducted the interviews which we all had prepared our questions for. As part of the radio cluster, at 4’11 I didn’t have high hopes for squeezing some questions in there. But despite the best efforts of the journos either side of me to squish me out of the huddled cluster, it turns out my height came as a huge advantage – the talent felt sorry for me!

Take example one for instance, [WARNING: namedrop ahead] whilst suffocating in the cluster and suffering at severe elbow-bashing – singer, songwriter, producer and entrepreneur Will.I.Am takes note of me standing so off balance that he says ‘Oh my gosh, you’re so cute and small‘. To my delight and just as a knight in shining armour should, ushered me to the front of the cluster so I could breathe (and get a great position for the interview). THANKS WILL.I.AM, what a gent.

I got a great interview, and even the patronising remarks of some of the radio journos with me, ‘Ohh you’re tiny’, didn’t throw me off. Because I realised, at the end of the day, I was there to get great content and do a good job. Getting back to the office, my boss was delighted with what I’d produced, and the brands were happy.

Even though I may have been crushed and had some false friends for the day, it was all in a day’s work – and I got what I needed!

Ofcourse, it wasn’t until later when I was recounting the event to my mum, that I realised I had had an opportunity like no other.

I got to eat expensive food, be part of a selected private audience to view the esteemed show way before the public, interview ‘famous’ individuals and represent an accomplished and respected organisation!

I’m proud to have done it, and what an experience. I just hope I’ll be as immune to fangirling when interviewing Beyonce (one day).

nloggg

Leave a Reply

